Welcome 2013! I hope you are a good no a GREAT year!

Resolution–

1. something determined or decided; resolution he had made a resolve to work all day. 2. firmness of purpose; determination nothing can break his resolve. — http://www.thefreedictionary.com/resolve

I hesitate to make a New Year’s Resolution because I have tried that before and apparently I didn’t have enough determination to succeed.  Maybe it just wasn’t the right time.  Maybe Auld Lang Syne should be about forgetting all of those previous attempts instead of forgetting old acquaintances.

I know what I want to accomplish and that’s more important to me than defining it.  I want the number on the scale to be 25 pounds lower than it is by Thanksgiving – a very generous amount of time.  I want to be able to walk a mile a day for at least 5 days a week.  I want to fit into the smaller clothes that I just bought last year in smaller sizes.  Then I want to lose 25 more pounds.  More importantly I want to start eating healthier and continue this way of life, well, for the rest of my life.

Reality

Since I did lose 25 pounds in 2011 and then gained it back last year, I have learned several things that I believe will help me with my goal/resolution/life change:

  • Sugar is not my friend
  • Processed foods need to be eaten in moderation, if at all
  • Fruit and veggies really do taste delicious
  • The most important lesson I learned is that when you get to your goal “weight” you can’t just stop and go back to your old habits.  It takes constant vigilance which if I had realized last year, I wouldn’t be back where I started.

These are the things I did that worked for me back then that I will do this year:

  1. Weigh daily – in the morning
  2. Measure monthly
  3. Keep a food log (also shows weight and exercise log)
  4. Limit carbs
  5. Eat more veggies
  6. Sunday is a free day
  7. Walked 3+ days

Please share what your goal/resolution is for this year – and if you call it something else.  I look forward to hearing your thoughts.  If you hear/heard a woman’s loud scream around 7 or 8 am EST today it may just be me looking at the scale numbers.  I will post monthly status reports but will keep my photographs to myself for a while.

May you have a happy, healthy and safe New Year!

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2013! I hope you are a good no a GREAT year!

  1. Even though I miss Brandon terribly. One good thing is I have more determination to actually do a New Years Resolution. Number one goal lose 15 lbs. No more pooch and more definition in arms and legs.( All before Brandon graduates AIT) I also want get closer to God. Know the word of God better. Read the entire Left Behind series. I think that is it (:

    Like

Comments are welcome

