The Kitchen R.O.P (ReOrganize Project) Part 1

We moved into this 800+ square foot apartment last summer and I thought I had the perfect plan for having my kitchen space organized.  Since living here I have realized that it doesn’t work for me.  I want my kitchen to be organized so I can enjoy cooking meals and baking my gluten free goodies.

Before

Before

Uninspiring

Uninspiring

My first goal was making the countertop space functional – it’s an inverted L-shaped countertop.  The worst area was between the fridge and stove and only 2 feet across where the toaster oven was located. It was the only appliance and it fills that space.  I used to have a basket filled with oven mitts there too but it was always being moved to open the toaster oven.  That basket is across the kitchen too far from the oven – not functional at all.  Click on photos for large view.

 

After

After

After

After

I moved the toaster oven to the other side of the stove and brought the utensil holder, oven mitt basket and can opener over to the fridge side.  I also had several little things – the salt and pepper shakers, the timer and the napkin holder on the bigger portion of counter and it was just too much clutter.  So I moved them too.

Parrot pot holder - very colorful inspiration

Parrot pot holder – very colorful inspiration

How cute is that and functional!

How cute is that and functional!

 

 

I asked Ray to put a small screw in the wall behind the stove for the decorative pot holder that is my color inspiration for dish clothes, towels and rugs for this space.  My hubby loves tropical birds so this cheerful parrot suits us and doesn’t make the mess that live birds do!

 

Stay tuned for Part 2 of the Kitchen R.O.P. (ReOrganize Project) – I have taken the before pictures of my messy cabinets and I am feverishly working on a plan to move the most used items to the shelves I can reach easily.  I am not a fan of our step stool and at 5’2 I’m vertically challenged.

Please share your favorite kitchen organizing tips with us!

Comments are welcome

