February Snail Mail

Brenda, Cheryl and Jeanette (sister, bff and m-i-l) are members of my snail mail club.  I make a card for each of them monthly and they do the same for me.

I will do a post of some of the cards they have sent me at a later time.

February’s birthstone is amethyst – I love purple so that was one of my inspirations for these cards.  Cheryl is getting back into crafts and was talking about embossing so that inspired me also.  For those that don’t know there are two types of embossing – dry and heat.  I used embossing plates put thru my Sizzix machine to create the texture for these cards so that would be dry embossing.

Vellum background

Vellum background

This first card I used vellum for the background and embossed with an alphabet plate – it came out looking and feeling so cool!  I decided to color in the letters HI since they were next to each other.

Negative Space

Negative Space

This second card I used the negative space  from a tag that I had punched out and placed on the diagonally lined textured background paper.  Shiny, glittery stickers and some cute buttons rounded out the design.

Great Texture

Great Texture

This third card I used a dash background with another piece of paper that had a shape punched out of it already – just put a coordinated paper behind it, rubbed a stitch on the side and some ribbon – voila’ a card.

{My inspiration for March will be flowers and chalks}

Comments are welcome

