Facing Fear – Putting myself out there

The 2013 Photography Exhibition at the Suffolk Art Gallery is open today and tomorrow for submissions.  On the entry form it says it’s the oldest and largest in Hampton Roads!  {Gulp}  I would normally read that and say I’m not worthy!  But I have the entry form next to me and I’ve printed my submissions.

Did I mention that I’m terrified?  I participated in a photo walk last fall and was honored to have my entries on display at the gallery in January with other participants.  I never knew that this area was so supportive of the fine arts!  When I saw that I won an Honorary Mention ribbon, I was over the moon!

That day someone from the gallery gave me this entry form and planted the seed.  This event is being judged by someone from the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. {Gulp}  This form sat on my dresser since January.  It’s a constant reminder that someone thought I have the talent to do this.  Every time I have that little voice of self-doubt whisper that I’m not good enough, I look at that form.

I’m sharing my 3 photographs here.  I’ve boldly affixed a watermark because I’m embracing the artist in me.  My work may not make the cut this time but I have to try.  To quote the Little Engine that Could – I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

This photograph of my grandson Chance and his Nanny has always spoken to me.  I love the textures of their skin.  My Mom has earned every life line on her face and I hope she is proud of this image.  Chance’s expression is priceless to me.  I can almost hear him saying ‘All these ladies want to do is put kisses all over my face!”  I’ve titled it Ladies Man.

Ladies Man

Ladies Man

This second photo was taken in early autumn.  We went to Portsmouth on the lookout for tugboats.  This is the first time I shot in Manual Mode.  My husband thought I was crazy when I walked down the steps to this mooring.  It was dark.  He didn’t see the image in my head that now is captured here.

Untied

This last shot was taken in January.  It was beginning to snow and my hands were red from the cold.  I was using my new lens.  Ray and I both marveled at the dreamy blurry background behind these gumballs.

Gumball Trio

Gumball Trio

Do you have a favorite?

5 thoughts on “Facing Fear – Putting myself out there

  1. Congrats on giving it a go! I got through scary things like this by telling myself ‘its about the learning experience – the outcome is irrelevant” and I was able to be less stressed about it that way 🙂

    I will note that your watermarks are quite intrusive. You could make them probably half the size and still make a statement. Also have you considered using opacity to make them blend a bit more with the photo. I comment on this because the eye is naturally drawn to the brightest and darkest points on an image, and with your watermark the way it is, it dominates the image a lot, and I think you might want your work appreciated and noticed 🙂

    This post gives a good explanation as to how http://www.suburbanmisfit.com/2012/02/21/tuesday-tip-how-to-create-a-photo-watermark/

    And good luck!

    Like

  2. And that little engine did make it you know! Lol. That was my favorite story when I was a little girl. You make sure you get those pictures submitted on time and let us all know how you do!!! Congrats!

    Like

    • I had to read that story to my sons more times than I can remember:-) I submitted the photos yesterday so I can check that off the list. Now I just have to wait until the end of this week to know how I did. Thanks for the support Judy!

      ________________________________

      Like

Comments are welcome

