May – Book Reviews and Photo Faves

May was a very good month for me.  I visited my family for Mother’s Day and my niece’s bridal shower.  My May Photo folder shows that I took lots of photos of family and of things around my area of Suffolk (167 to be exact)!

So I chose my favorites for photo collages and here they are:

May 2013 fave photos pg2 (800x800) May 2013 photo fave collage (800x800)

May 2013 family collage (800x800)

I also read a lot which surprised me since I was working as well.  But I do love to read.

  1. Clubbed To Death: A Dead-End Job Mystery by Elaine Viets
  2. Killer Cuts: A Dead-End Job Mystery by Elaine Viets
  3. Half-Price Homicide: A Dead-End Job Mystery by Elaine Viets
  4. So Worthy My Love by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
  5. Come Love a Stranger by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
  6. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
  7. Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Trilogy Bundle by Stieg Larsson
  8. A Rose In Winter by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
  9. Paper, Scissors, Death: A Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft Mystery by Joanna Campbell Slan
  10. Cut, Crop & Die (A Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft Mystery) by Joanna Campbell Slan

Review:

I started reading Elaine Viets simply by chance.  I loved her Mystery Shopper mystery series and I read the earlier Dead End mysteries in tandem.  But I couldn’t get into the Pumped For Murder book so I stopped reading it!!!

My sister Brenda got me into Kathleen E. Woodiwiss’ books when I was a teenager.  In fact, I named my son Brandon from The Flame and the Flower novel!  It’s been many, many years since I’ve re-read any of her novels.  I felt like I was visiting old friends when I started and I enjoyed them again.

I first read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy after Ray’s parents kept saying how good they were.  I had such a hard time putting the Kindle down for this series!  I devoured those books as soon as I could check out a copy from the library.  Was it as good as a second read?  I wondered.  Again, I could hardly put the Kindle down this time either!  If you haven’t read it, you are missing out. The story may be a little hard to get into at first but wow – the author was a genius.  He also died right after submitting it to the publisher!  Amazing.

The Scrap-n-Craft mystery series was started by chance too.  I laughed so much while reading the 2nd book that I hope the entire series is as good.

What are you reading?

Update:  I forgot to credit Rebecca at Simple As That for the collage templates!

Comments are welcome

