Historic downtown Suffolk

I had a wonderful morning yesterday shooting a different section of Suffolk.  I love old buildings and it’s not just the fronts of the buildings that are interesting to me as you will see.  Textures of brick, sheet metal and interesting shaped windows, some boarded up, well it’s obvious that I love old buildings.  Makes me think of this oldie:

When you’re alone and life is making you lonely
You can always go downtown
When you’ve got worries, all the noise and the hurry
Seems to help, I know, downtown

(sung by Petula Clark composed by Tony Hatch)

029 (533x800)

This building(s) has been converted to lofts with high end finishes. I wish there was a model open so I could have gone in.

018 (533x800)

Staggered roof lines make an interesting composition but look at the details! So beautiful.

047 (800x533)

Cracks don’t seem to detract but enhance the beauty. Hmm, wrinkles.

063 (800x533)

I’m always surprised to see a small tree growing from a rooftop.

086 (533x800)

I wish that neon sign was on! Great textures.

087 (800x533)

I felt like I was back in time except the vehicles were modern day. See the telephone sign? There wasn’t one there.

100 (800x533)

I loved the back of this building…more to come of this one!

127 (533x800)

So much to love here…

 

Rusty utility boxes and window bars, pipes snaking across the backs and old faded paint…good times!

3 thoughts on “Historic downtown Suffolk

Comments are welcome

