30 Days of Gratitude – Day 17

Music from an Orchestra

I played the clarinet for two years in elementary school and it was a challenge.  I remember bringing it home that first week and trying to make music come out of it but it sounded like a sick goose.  Twinkle, twinkle little star baby by a sick goose!  I would get better with practice but it wasn’t something I felt I needed to keep doing after my 2 year stint was over.

Today I’m grateful for musicians and their love of their craft.  Ray and I have several DVD’s of some of our favorite musicians.  We’ve just listened and watched k.d. Lang with the BBC orchestra filmed in London.  It’s a visual feast for the eyes but that’s another topic.  The music is as delicious as a salted caramel ice cream sundae.  Contemporary music accompanied by an orchestra is simply divine.  The many layers of sound is so satisfying and gratifying. I get to hear my favorite – the cello – add its richness while k.d. sings.  Pure heaven.

This song (Coming Home) has a steel guitar and (wait for it) a BANJO playing alongside the strings.  Seriously brilliant (that explains k.d.’s smile – obviously).  It rocks!

Another favorite in this genre is The Moody Blues Live at The Royal Albert Hall – simply brilliant.  If you don’t get goose bumps then I’m sorry for ya.

I’m looking to add more music dvd’s to our collection so if you would be kind enough to recommend your faves I would appreciate it.

What are YOU grateful for today?

Comments are welcome

