30 Days of Gratitude – Day 26

GiGihood (aka Grandmotherhood)

We interrupt this daily post of gratitude to share a very special message.  Brandon announced that he and Kiesha are expecting my 2nd grandchild!  It’s funny that I had planned to write about my feelings for my grandson Chance tomorrow but I will do it today instead.

I remember in 2010 being shocked when Brandon told me that they had a baby on the way.  Part of it was vanity that even though I was in my mid 40’s I didn’t feel like a grandmother!  The other part was a major concern that Brandon didn’t have health insurance yet with his new job.  Thankfully they did and were fully covered because they certainly didn’t need a huge financial burden placed on them so quickly in their marriage.

I was blessed to watch Chance come into this world and I was thrilled to take care of him as often as possible.  We bonded and he survived having his GiGi take his photos A LOT.

Last December, my heart broke when the trio went to Texas before Brandon went into Basic Training.  I wouldn’t see that cute face for 6 months and when I did see him again, I worried that Chance wouldn’t remember me.  I was so thrilled when he hugged me right away and chatted with me over lunch that day!

They have settled in Kentucky which is far but not horribly far.  When they came back to visit in early November, I asked Ray to take my camera and capture some moments with Chance and his GiGi together.

This photo speaks a thousand words

This photo speaks a thousand words

 

Moments that I shared with my two boys but don’t have on film have helped me see the importance of documenting our relationship.

Teach Your Children Well – CSN

You, who are on the road, must have a code, that you can live by.
And so, become yourself, because the past, is just a good bye.
Teach, your children well, their father’s hell, did slowly go by,
And feed them on your dreams, the one they picked, the one you’re known by.
Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh, and know they love you.

And you, of the tender years, can’t know the fears, that your elders grew by.
And so please help them with your years, they seek the truth before they can die.
Teach, your parents well, their children’s hell, will slowly go by.
And feed, them on your dreams, the one they picked, the one you’re known by.
Don’t you ever ask them why, if they told you you would cry,
So just look at them and sigh, and know they love you.

Love image – Quirky Twerp “Our Love” 

Comments are welcome

