30 Days of Gratitude – Day 29

Traditions

I hope that everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday!  I was thrilled that Gitte, Moni and Josh were able to sit at the holiday table with us (Mom, sisters and hubs) this year.  Of course, it never feels like enough time to have fun and visit!  BUT I truly enjoyed being with all of the family that could gather and we really enjoyed the delicious foods to celebrate another Thanksgiving!

It was important to me that I had traditions when my boys were growing up.  I had home décor for Easter, Halloween, Thanksgiving and of course Christmas!  I know I went overboard with my Christmas décor but I loved all those things so much.  We would take the boys to see the train village in Blackstone and would drive around looking at Christmas lights.  I would also bake cookies so that we had a plate for Santa.

Now that I’m an empty nester, I find that having traditions is still important.  When I first lived with Ray I told him I wanted to put the Christmas tree up on Black Friday so we did.  I love our Christmas tree on its revolving base and I’ve filled it with sentimental ornaments that I enjoy looking at every day.   When we moved into this apartment I had to downsize my Christmas décor as well as everything else.  So I only kept things that I really and truly love.

Another tradition that I continue from when the boys were little is my love of Christmas music.  I was fortunate to purchase a 25 CD player stereo years ago (at a great clearance price ~ score!).  I have more than 25 wonderful Christmas CDs to listen to and will load them up today.  I’m partial to my instrumental Celtic Christmas music because it’s soothing as I unpack the ornaments and load up the tree.  But closer to the big day I will want to hear my traditional songs sung by Frank Sinatra, Dean, Burl Ives and others…as well as today’s contemporary artists like Mariah, Michael Buble’ and Celine Dion.  But I can’t wait to hear the Live Mannheim Steamroller we bought last year…goose bumps happen!

So today I’m grateful that Ray doesn’t mind helping me set up the tree!  He’s not a Grinch at all.  I’m grateful that I have wonderful memories tied to ornaments given to me over the years.  I’m grateful for the reason for the season.

What are YOU grateful for today?

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Gratitude – Day 29

  1. I love new traditions. Alex and I have been making our own. We had pancakes for Thanksgiving. Used to We drove to see family but since she’s been sick we slept and had a quiet peaceful Tday. I thankful for new traditions and friends like you!

    >

    Like

Comments are welcome

