Saying Goodbye

When we lived with my Mom

When we lived with my Mom

She was almost sixteen and she’s been with me almost every day of those 15 years.  Spooky was my little girl, our family nurse, my stress reliever, my comforter.  She alone was with me every day and every night as my life changed dramatically during those 15 years.  She used to scratch the covers to get under the bed with me and she’s handled the many moves I thrust upon her so very well for a cat.

She fell in love with Ray when he came into her life as he spoiled her so.  He’s been with me and helped make our arrangements.  We took her for cremation and he will bring her back to me on Monday.

Ray reminds me that she started today by eating her favorite treats, getting rubs from her mom, sat on the arm of her favorite chair.

Her favorite chair

Her favorite chair

She came into the bathroom to be with me as she said goodbye.  I was able to pet her and talk to her to tell her how much she meant to me.  I couldn’t ask for more than that.

This morning I started the day with a smile as we waited to hear the news of the gender of our next grandchild.  We saw the ultrasound and now know that we are gonna have a new baby boy that I’m so ready to love.  But today I am grieving for my little girl.

Last May on our balcony

Last May on our balcony

2 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. I am so sorry Sherri to hear. I am crying as I read your words. Our pets are so much a part of our lives and to lose one is so hard on the heart! Keep those wonderful memories and congratulations on the news of a new baby!!!

    Like

    • Thank you so very much Judy! I know that you have a cat and can understand (as any pet lover). I made it through the first 24 hours and there are a lot of balled up tissues in my house!

      Like

Comments are welcome

