This Mother’s Love

Back in March, I had an awful nightmare about Jeremy that brought back my fear from his cancer treatment days.  I like to think that it’s God’s way of warning me that he was in danger.  Even so, I was still shocked when I got the call that he was being admitted to the hospital and going into ICU.  Jeremy spent 16 days in the hospital this month due to a dreadful condition called Pancreatitis.

Once I got that call my thought process was to pack a bag and get to that hospital.  That was where I had to be.  ICU had relaxed the rules about visitation but I wasn’t allowed to stay overnight in that room with him.  So I stayed nearby at my Mom’s and sister Judy’s house but was back the next morning.  He supposedly was bouncing back quickly and the doctors attributed that to his young age.  So I celebrated by smiling the whole way when he was moved a few days later to a regular room out of ICU because he was getting better!

I won’t go into all of the details of his entire stay or how they messed up and sent him home only for me to take him back the next day.  I will tell you he experienced the horrific NG Tube being placed into his nose and down his throat to slowly empty his stomach of the enzymes his pancreas wasn’t able to process. I’m so thankful that his nurse was able to arrange a private room for him after that and I was able to stay the night to help him cope as best he could with the discomfort and nausea that tube created.  He was miserable and all I could do was to be there for him.

He suffered several setbacks during his stay.  He wasn’t always the best patient at the end when he just wanted to get out of there.  He may have hurt my feelings unintentionally once or twice.

Jeremy had a visitor the day before he was discharged.  The man wasn’t someone I expected to hear profound thoughts from but he blew my mind.  He said “Jeremy, your mom brought you into this world and she’s been here with you to make sure you don’t leave it too soon.”

I will confess that as I dropped Jeremy off yesterday, I had a bout of tears.  But I was coming home to Ray, Bud and my life.  Today Jeremy called me and we talked.  I loved hearing from him – he sounded so good.

Tomorrow is Easter.  I am sovery thankful that we’ve experienced another miracle with Jeremy’s recovery.

One thought on “This Mother’s Love

Comments are welcome

