Assateague Beach

Although my family lived in Miami, Florida for a few of my early years, I don’t remember seeing the ocean back then.  I know I did but it doesn’t count since I don’t remember it.  Later, there were lake visits when I was a teen and I enjoyed swimming in those dark waters despite the fish nibbles and the possibility of seeing snakes.

I only remember going to the ocean after I turned 18!  I found that immense body of salty water to be miraculous and I found peace listening to it.  Fast forward a decade later when Jeremy started going through his treatments and an idea had formed for our twin’s club moms to have a weekend trip to the beach.  Bliss, peace, serenity or all of those could be found on a sandy beach smelling the salty air.

This day trip to Assateague Beach reminded me of those joyful feelings.  As I got out of the car, I closed my eyes and took several breaths of salty air.  I didn’t have my swimsuit, blanket or sunscreen.  I was just there to enjoy those few moments before going to the lighthouse.  It was wonderful.

Me and my shadow - hey that's not me!

Me and my shadow – hey that’s not me!

Contemplation

Contemplation

Quintessentially beach

Quintessentially beach

Colorful and crowded

Colorful and crowded

A glimpse of the surf

A glimpse of the surf

Comments are welcome

