Tangier Golden Hour

I’ve heard about this mystical light for years from photography websites.  The definition of the golden hour is the half hour before and after a sunrise or sunset.  I’ve never been inspired enough to go out and capture it until last Friday.

I woke up without an alarm around 5:15 and peeked out of the window.  Of course, my moving around woke Ray up too.  As soon as I glimpsed the view from our cabin window, I knew.  We had to go out even though I had assured Ray the night before that I wouldn’t possibly want to do the sunrise.  Ha, the joke was on me.

We scrambled to get our clothes on and my camera gear.  We hustled to our golf cart and broke the quiet of the dawn.  It was exhilarating to feel like we were the only souls awake on that island.  That was just an illusion but an enjoyable one.  The temperature was just right, not too cool or humid.

At first, I wanted the big tree at the cemetery facing east.  But that was a bust.  So we went to the marina.  Oh my.  I felt this humming in my soul as I set up my camera on the tripod.  I prayed I would have the settings right to catch the magic that was before me.

So I give you my golden hour on Tangier Island –

From our cabin porch

From our cabin porch

The water tower became a major focal point instead of an eyesore

The water tower became a major focal point instead of an eyesore

We were not the only ones awake!

We were not the only ones awake!

One of my favorites overall

One of my favorites overall

What can I say

What can I say

The early crabber gets the crabs (oops)

The early crabber gets the crabs (oops)

Good morning Sun

Good morning Sun

Sigh

Sigh

A moment of silence

A moment of silence

3 thoughts on “Tangier Golden Hour

Comments are welcome

